TedX Youth Event!

Got to say, starting a day at 7am is pretty normal for me. However, starting the day at 7am in a room full of inspirational youth speakers is pretty out of the ordinary and just felt amazing!

Today my plan is to have great chats with a number of people, hand out goodie bags and of course make sure everything is running smoothly and I am helping as much as I can.

To start the day off, all of the volunteers arrived and we got a wee briefing on what tasks were expected to be done within our role as a volunteer as well as the general health and safety information.

As the guest speakers began to arrive, I can definitely say that building’s atmosphere was even more enlightened and it genuinely was incredible to be able to have the opportunity to speak with some of them about their story and to find out who influences them.

Moving forward to lunchtime, we were lucky enough to have Bacon Brothers provide us with food! Their food is always so delicious and definitely FILLING! This was the time when I was able to really connect with the attendees and find out what their highlights were so far into the day. Most of the responses were around selected speakers and what they had taught them, as well as others mentioning that it was the feeling of being in a room full of people who just like them are seeking some inspiration towards life.

As the day slowly came to an end, we began to clear out the area and thank everyone that had both came and helped to make the day possible! We then ran a debrief of the day where we spoke about what went well and how we could have improved in certain areas.

Overall, I felt that this day was super beneficial for both the attendees as well as myself! I can honestly say that I was able to take something new away from the speakers that I will forever be grateful for!

To find out more about the event, check out the Facebook page ‘TedX Youth Avon River’.

Thank you all once again for your support, and for taking the time out of your day to read about what it is I do with my days 🙂

 

IMG-0461

 

 

Leave a comment